I didn’t mean to ramble this much…

25 June 2006

On Friday I went to an opening with Ame Farideh. And then to Amu Farhad's house to get ready to go to his friend's house.
At his friend's house I spent most of the time sitting quietly, but did talk to Amir for a bit, except he used too many big words and asked questions about college entrance exams in the United States that I don't know the answer to since its a bit of a ways away. I also talked to Zahra for a while. She's twelve, almost thirteen, so she's close to my age. She was easier to understand.

Amu Farhad had taken a cake. Right as I was trying really hard to stay awake sitting in a chair, I hear happy birthday in Farsi. I was so out of it at this point that I was wondering whose birthday it was and it took a while to register that they were looking at me. So I had another cake to destroy while cutting. I need to practice my cake cutting skills, or maybe its just the utensils I've been given to use aren't the easiest. They tend to not be long enough, so their handles end up with most of the cream icing.

Then around 2 or so we returned to Amu Farhad's, I called Mom and Dad and talked to them for a bit, gave the phone to Amu Farhad, and went to sleep immediately. I actually got up rather late for me, but around 8 only gave me 6 hours of sleep. And it was the second night in a row I'd done that.

Yesterday I didn't really do anything in the morning. Zanamu Mina brought me back to Mamanzari's around 10:30-ish, and I worked on getting the photos online, wrote, cut up cucumbers and tomatoes and made sandwiches for lunch in Ame Farideh's sandwich machine. I then tried not to munch, but ended up doing so anyways. I started to reread The Truth About Forever, and am not on Chapter 5 or so for the second time. It's easier to put down when you've already read it.

Ame Farideh told me to be ready at 3:30 if I wanted to go out with her; she had to go to one of Amu Farhad's projects and then was going to go to another opening. I wasn't that interested in going to work with her, figuring I'd be really bored (but it wasn't as boring as I thought it would be), and I thought another opening would be neat, and I figured I'd get out that way. So I was ready, and around 4:30 she was too so we left.

The project that I saw was Amu Farhad's. Donyaye Arezoo, a shopping mall that they're currently building. From the models I saw and stuff, it was really interesting. They have all these images of what it'll look like when its all done. Right now outside the construction site on a wall are these mosaics and other collage-y pictures Ame Farideh did.

I really liked the opening, it was at Tehran University (I think), and went along with the one I went to Friday, only was more photography and printing, so I liked it better. The only problem was I was exhausted and hoping to get to bed at 8, which considering we left at 7:45, wasn't going to happen. I'm sure if Ame Farideh hadn't had me with her she would have stayed longer. I hate it when I feel like I'm a burden to someone.
Ame Farideh offered to take me to a vegetarian restaurant, so I accepted, against my better judgment. I should've gone with my first instinct of no and just gone home and gone to bed. I ended up going to bed at 10:30 or so, and slept today until 8. I don't think I slept enough. My stupid headache hasn't gone away.
AND I had pizza for dinner last night.

But don't take that the wrong way, its not to say I'm not having a good time. I'm just probably jeopardizing myself because of some of my decisions and trying not to burden anyone and not wanting to leave Mamanzari alone. I could be at Ame Fereshteh's with a girl whose name I have no clue how to try to spell (Kiana?) who is my age. I think I might see her tomorrow. Or Tuesday. It would be nice if I could figure out how to call people, but despite having the numbers and dialing them, I get wrong numbers, the "please check the number and try again spiel", or answering machines (which I do not like).

One Response to “I didn’t mean to ramble this much…”

  1. Mom of Runaway Says:

    Sounds like your days are filling up–hope Sunday was more relaxing–Try to take a nap in the afernoon. Miss you.


Leave a comment